Brandel Library

BTS 1850: Introduction to the Bible (Willitts)

Citing Your Sources

Citation Examples

  • Chicago/Turabian (Bibliography):
  • Journal Article

Bibliography

Veeneman, Mary M. "Evangelical Ecumenism: The Quest for an Evangelical Tradition." Evangelical Journal 26, no. 2 (September 1, 2008): 56-64.

Endnote or Footnote

1. Mary M. Veeneman, "Evangelical Ecumenism: The Quest for an Evangelical Tradition," Evangelical Journal 26, no. 2 (September 1, 2008): 58.

  • Book

Bibliography

Veeneman, Mary M. Introducing Theological Method: A Survey of Contemporary Theologians and Approaches. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2017.

Endnote or Footnote

2. Mary M. Veeneman, Introducing Theological Method: A Survey of Contemporary Theologians and Approaches (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2017), 23.

  • Edited Book

Bibliography

Green, Joel B., gen. ed. Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics. Grand Rapids, MI.: Baker Academic, 2011.

Endnote or Footnote

3. Joel B. Green, gen. ed., Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2011).

  • Article in Edited Book

Bibliography

Veeneman, Mary M. "Death and Dying." In Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics, ed. Joel B. Green, 206-209. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2011.

Endnote or Footnote

4. Mary M. Veeneman, "Death and Dying" in Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics, ed. Joel B. Green, 206-209 (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2011).

  • APA (References):

Veeneman, M. M. (2008). Evangelical ecumenism: the quest for an evangelical tradition. Evangelical Journal, 26(2), 56-64.

Veeneman, M. M. (2017). Introducing Theological Method: A Survey of Contemporary Theologians and Approaches. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Green, Joel B., Lapsley, Jacqueline E., Miles, Rebekah,Verhey, Allen. (Eds.) (2011) Dictionary of Scripture and ethics. Grand Rapids, MI : Baker Academic.

  • MLA (Works cited):

Veeneman, Mary M. "Evangelical Ecumenism: The Quest For An Evangelical Tradition." Evangelical Journal 26.2 (2008): 56-64. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials. Web. 29 Aug. 2013.

Green, Joel B., Lapsley, Jacqueline E., Miles, Rebekah, Verhey, Allen., eds. Dictionary Of Scripture And Ethics. Grand Rapids, MI : Baker Academic, 2011. Print.

Formatting Your References

Turabian (and its parent, the Chicago Manual of Style) documentation format has a consistent rationale:

  • Each note (whether footnotes or endnotes) is a single sentence.
    • The only period is at the end of the citation.
    • Only commas and semi-colons, and colons occur within the citation.
    • Series and publishing information is included in a parenthesis at the end of the note, before the period.
  • Book:
    • Author’s first name, last name, Title: subtitle (Place of publication: Publisher, date), page(s).
  • Journal article:
    • Author’s first name, last name, “Article title,” Journal Title vol. no., issue no. (date [including month or season, if present]): page or page-page, url [if accessed online].
  • Edited book:
    • Editor’s first name, last name, ed., Title: subtitle (Series; Place of publication: Publisher, date).
  • Edited book [multiple editors]:
    • first name, last name; first name, last name; first name, last name, eds., Title: subtitle (Series; Place of publication: Publisher, date).
  • Article in book:
    • Name, “Article title” in Book Title: subtitle, ed. Name(s), page-page (Series; Place of publication: Publisher, date).

Bibliography citations, on the other hand, are not a sentence. Periods occur after each basic unit:

  • Book:
    • Author’s last name, first name. Title. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.
  • Journal article:
    • Author’s last name, first name. “Title.” Journal title vol. no., issue no. (Date [including month or season, if present]): page-page. url [if accessed online].
  • Edited book:
    • Editor’s last name, first name, ed., Title: subtitle. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.
  • Edited book [multiple editors]:
    • last name, first name; last name, first name; last name, first name, eds. Title: subtitle. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.
  • Article in book:
    • Last name, first name. “Article title.” In Book Title: subtitle, ed. first name, last name(s), page-page. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.

Citation Styles

Your syllabus specifies that you should use a standard format for your paper. These would include Turabian/Chicago Manual of Style, APA, and MLA.

Purdue University has a helpful website for all of the standard citation styles:

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/

Brandel Library has an online edition of the Chicago Manual of Style:

http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/16/contents.html

E-Turabian will format your citation into either bibliography or footnote style:

http://www.eturabian.com/turabian/index.html

 

Citation Features: ATLA & JSTOR

  • ATLA Religion Database,
    • Click on a title from the results list and print, email, save, and cite icons will appear on the right side of the screen.
    • When you click on the yellow "cite" icon, the citation of the article will appear in several bibliographic formats and you may select the style that you are using.

 

  • JSTOR
    • icons for the following tasks will appear on the right side of the item information: