Skip to Main Content

BTS 1850: Introduction to the Bible (Willitts): Home/Reference Books

Using Biblical Dictionaries and Encyclopedia

Dictionaries of the Bible (or dictionaries of some portion of the Bible, such as the Old Testament or New Testament or of the Prophets or the Gospels, etc.) contain articles that define and explain biblical words, sometimes at considerable length.
- The articles identify and describe people, corporate bodies, events, and themes in the Bible.
- The articles also summarize, outline, and analyze the books of the Bible.
When you are writing on a passage in the Bible, you should begin by identifying key words, persons, events, corporate bodies, and themes that appear in your passage.
Then read about those words, persons, events, corporate bodies, and themes in biblical dictionaries to acquire a basic understanding.
This preliminary understanding will be helpful when you move on to research in commentaries, journal articles, and books related to your passage.

Reference Books: Old Testament

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by David W. Baker; T. Desmond Alexander, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS1225.52 .D53 2003
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch (online) by T. Desmond Alexander; David W. Baker, eds.
Call Number: BS1225.52 .D53 2003eb
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Bill T. Arnold; H. G. M. Williamson, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS1205.55 .D53 2005
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books (online) by Bill T. Arnold; H. G. M. Williamson, eds.
Call Number: BS1205.55 .D53 2005eb
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry, & Writings by Tremper Longman III; Peter Enns, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS440 .D53 2008
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry and Writings (online) by Tremper Longman III; Peter Enns, eds.
Call Number: BS440 .D53 2008eb
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by J. Gordon McConville; Mark J. Boda, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS1505.55 .D53 2012
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets (online) by Mark J. Boda; J. Gordon McConville, eds.
Call Number: BS1505.55 .D53 2012eb

Reference Books: New Testament

Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed. by Joel B. Green; Jeannine K. Brown; Nicholas Perrin, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS2555.2 .D53 2013
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed. (online) by Joel B. Green; Jeannine K. Brown; Nicholas Perrin, eds.
Call Number: BS2555.52 .D53 2013eb
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Gerald F. Hawthorne; Daniel G. Reid; Ralph P. Martin, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS2650.2 .D53 1993
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters (online) by Gerald F. Hawthorne; Ralph P. Martin; Daniel G. Reid, eds.
Call Number: BS2650.2 .D53 1993eb
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Ralph P. Martin; Peter H. Davids, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS2625.5 .D53 1997
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments (online) by Ralph P. Martin; Peter H. Davids, eds.
Call Number: BS2625.5 .D53 1997eb
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Craig A. Evans; Stanley E. Porter, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS2312 .D53 2000
Dictionary of New Testament Background (online) by Craig A. Evans; Stanley E. Porter, eds.
Call Number: BS2312 .D53 2000eb

We Have Your Textbook

Reading the Bible from the Margins by Miguel A. De La Torre
Call Number: BS476 .D4 2002
A Compact Guide to the Whole Bible by Robert W. Wall; David R. Nienhuis, eds.
Call Number: BS475.3 .C655 2015
Zondervan Essential Atlas of the Bible by Carl G. Rasmussen
Call Number: G2230 .R33 2013

Reference Books: Whole Bible

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by David Noel Freedman, ed.
Call Number: Ref BS440 .E44 2000
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary by Paul J. Achtemeier, ed.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 5 vols. by Katharine Doob Sakenfeld, ed.
Call Number: Ref BS440 .N443 2006
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (online) by Katharine Doob Sakenfeld, ed.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 vols. by David Noel Freedman, ed.
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992
Women in Scripture: A Dictionary of Named and Unnamed Women in the Hebrew Bible, the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books, and the New Testament by Carol L. Meyers; Toni Craven; Ross S. Kraemer; Carol Meyers, eds.
Call Number: Ref BS575 .W593 2000

Librarian

Brandel Librarians

Email Me

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2024 12:32 PM
Print Page