NURS 2100: Survey of Professional Nursing

Evidence Based Practice Articles

The objective of the Evidence Based Practice Evaluation Assignment is to attain a foundational level of evidence based practice research skills.

Step 1: Choose a topic from the assigned list.
Step 2: Conduct a literature search for evidence based practice articles.

You will need to select 4 articles with different levels of evidence and complete the level of evidence grid.
One source may be a non-nursing journal.
The other 4 sources must be from a peer-reviewed nursing journal.

Step 3: Analyze the objective parts of the article (methods, results, etc) to determine the level of evidence and write your rationale.

Use the following databases to find articles that are based on evidence. Remember to click the "Evidence-Based Practice/EBP or EBM" box.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reference tool for nursing and allied health professionals; includes the full text of more than 1,300 journals.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, and biology.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text articles, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses that provide key resources for evidence-based medicine.

Can I access these databases off campus?
Yes! You can access all databases on/off campus. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your NPU email and password

1. Nurse Burnout/Staff Turnover

2. Medication Errors

3. Patient Satisfaction

4. Pain Management

5. Patient Centered-Care

6. Culturally Congruent Care

7. Interprofessional Collaboration

8. Nursing Students and Stress

9. Technology and Nursing

10. Patient Confidentiality

11. Hospital Falls

Email Me