Please see our Library Services during COVID page for the Brandel Library's current policies. See North Park University's COVID-19 update page for more information about how the campus is responding to COVID-19.
HSTY 7300: History and Theology of the Covenant Church
Accessing Resources on the Covenant
- Many materials from and about the ECC can be found in BX7547, both the Reference and in the circulating General collection.
- Many materials on the Swedish Mission Friends can be found in BX9798, especially in the circulating General collection.
- Many works on Pietism can be found at BR1650.
- Materials related to the Covenant and the associated movements can be searched by the names of the movements and churches (especially as subjects, but in some cases also as authors) or the names of persons (as authors or subjects).
Finding Articles in Journals
The following two journals focus on subjects relevant to the Covenant’s past and present and are principal resources.
- Covenant Quarterly. “The Covenant Quarterly is published by the Evangelical Covenant Church, primarily with the purpose of serving Covenant clergy, but also producing articles and book reviews of general pastoral interest. The journal has also become recognized as a primary source of materials on Pietism.”
- Swedish-American Historical Quarterly: “All of the issues from 1950 through 2005 as well as two indexes have been digitized and are accessible online.” http://collections.carli.illinois.edu/cdm4/index_npu_sahq.php?CISOROOT=/npu_sahq
- ATLA Religion Database is the primary database for locating and identifying relevant journal publications: http://web.b.ebscohost.com/ehost/search/basic?sid=8875f762-9c17-4d1c-a617-93ac4099cbdd%40sessionmgr110&vid=0&hid=116
- The following websites provide access to a variety of information about the ECC and related bodies and to documents from the history of those bodies.
- Archives of the Evangelical Covenant Church, the Swedish-American Archives of Greater Chicago, and North Park University can all be found at http://library.northpark.edu/archives
- See especially the open access digital Frisk Collection of Covenant Literature: http://collections.carli.illinois.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/npu_swecc
- Swedish-American Archives of Greater Chicago: http://library.northpark.edu/node/98
- Evangelical Covenant Church website: http://www.covchurch.org/
- Evangelical Covenant Church resources webpage: http://www.covchurch.org/resources/