- Brandel Library
- Research Guides
- YM 4980 Leadership and Management for Youth Ministry (Seversen)
- Finding Research Articles
YM 4980 Leadership and Management for Youth Ministry (Seversen)
Finding Research Articles
Article Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts as well as some full-text articles and documents in the field of education. - PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowSome full-text articles but mostly mostly citations and abstracts in the fields of psychology and related subjects.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and scholarly index of content related to sociology that includes some full text resources.
- ATLA Plus Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThe premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in the fields of religion, theology, biblical studies. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
- Accessing databases off-campus:All library databases are accessible on/off campus. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your North Park username and password.
Database Search Tips
ATLA Religion Database:
While searching for children's/youth ministry in the database will bring up results, the actual subject heading for articles in this area is "church work with youth." Use this in a subject search to pull up the best and most complete list of results!
PsycInfo, ERIC, and Sociological Abstracts:
Use Truncation
Adolescent, Adolescents, Adolecence
Teen, Teens, Teenage, Teenagers
How do you search library databases for all those variations? By using truncation! By placing a truncation symbol at the end of a root word, you can search a database for all the variations of that word.
Many databases use an asterisk for the truncation symbol.
Example:
adolescen* --- retrieves adolescent, adolescents, or adolescence
teen* -- retreives teen, teens, teenage, teenagers
[Page borrowed from Marielle McNeal]
Getting Full-Text Articles
The Brandel Library can often provide a link directly to the PDF of the article you need. After searching a library database, links with the phrase "Full Text" should all resolve to the PDF of the article.
Some of the time, however, the library won't have access to the full text of the article. In those cases, you will need to use the "Request via WorldShare Interlibrary Loan" link to request the article. The WorldShare Interlibrary Loan service is free to students and most articles arrive within 4 days.
