Skip to Main Content
Brandel Library
Research Guides
THEA 1040: Dramaturgy/Text Analysis
Home
THEA 1040: Dramaturgy/Text Analysis: Home
This guide provides resources to aid in your analysis and interpretation of a play.
Brandel Library Resources
Background Info
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
This database has hundreds of encyclopedias. Try searching for your play and for aspects of the play's theme, setting, and characters.
Literary Analysis
Newspapers
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)
This link opens in a new window
This database has the archives of thousands of newspapers. Use it to find reviews of productions of your play (even in small markets).
Multimedia
Films on Demand
This link opens in a new window
Search for documentaries touching on aspects of your play.
Chicago Public Library Resources
International Index to the Performing Arts
Look here for reviews of play productions and analysis of play texts. You must get a free Chicago Public Library e-card to use this database.
Chicago Theater Archives from CPL
Chicago Film Archive of Performance
Handy stuff on the internet
The Costume Page
Digital Public Library of America
Historical Clothing Guides for Theater Costumes
The History of Costume Design (Braun and Schneider, c.1861-1880)
Internet Broadway Database
Internet Off-Broadway Database
Joseph Urban Set Design
McCoy's Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
The Playbill Vault
Search for your play to find photos from past productions.
Scene4
Scroll to the bottom to search the archives.
Show Guides from Stage Agent
