Research Guides: EDU 3130: Multicultural Education: Find Articles

Education Databases (Pedagogical Research)

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles and book chapters on a variety of topics in education including curriculum, standards, and special education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts as well as some full-text articles and documents in the field of education.

Sociology Databases (Sociological Research)

SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and scholarly index of content related to sociology that includes some full text resources.

History Databases (Historical Research)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text and complete back runs of scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.

Chicago Newspaper (Chicago Public Library)
A list of Chicago newspapers available through the Chicago Public Library (CPL). To access these newspapers online, you will need a CPL card. You can also visit any CPL location to access the newspapers without a library card.

Multidiscinplinary Databases (Political, Economic, Historical, & Sociological Research)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of academic subjects.

Keyword Searching

Keywords are the search terms that you enter into the database to describe the topic of articles that you want to retrieve. The database will word-match your keywords against the text of the article, and deliver results that match what you enter.

Search Examples

Research Question:
How does poverty and segregation impact child development?

Keywords:
Poverty, low-income, discrimination, segregation, child development

Keyword Search in a Database

Watch a basic tutorial (created by Walden University Library) about keyword searching in a database.

EDU 3130: Multicultural Education: Find Articles