- Brandel Library
- Research Guides
- BTS 1850: Introduction to the Bible (Hayes)
- Home/Reference Books
BTS 1850: Introduction to the Bible (Hayes)
Home/Reference Books
Using Biblical Dictionaries and Encyclopedia
- Dictionaries of the Bible (or dictionaries of the Old Testament or New Testament or of the Prophets or the Gospels, etc.) contain articles that define and explain biblical words, sometimes at considerable length. The articles identify and describe people, corporate bodies, events, and themes in the Bible. The articles also summarize, outline, and analyze the books of the Bible.
- When you are writing on a passage in the Bible, identify key words, persons, events, corporate bodies, and themes that appear in your passage. Then read about those words, persons, events, corporate bodies, and themes in biblical dictionaries to acquire a basic understanding. This preliminary understanding will be helpful when you move on to research in commentaries, journal articles, and books that deal with your passage.
Reference Books: Old Testament
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by Call Number: Ref BS1225.52 .D53 2003
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by Call Number: BS1225.52 .D53 2003eb
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Call Number: Ref BS1205.55 .D53 2005
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Call Number: BS1205.55 .D53 2005eb
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry, & Writings by Call Number: Ref BS440 .D53 2008
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry and Writings by Call Number: BS440 .D53 2008eb
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Call Number: Ref BS1505.55 .D53 2012
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Call Number: BS1505.55 .D53 2012eb
Reference Books: New Testament
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed. by Call Number: Ref BS2555.2 .D53 2013
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed. (online) by Call Number: BS2555.52 .D53 2013eb
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Call Number: Ref BS2650.2 .D53 1993
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters (online) by Call Number: BS2650.2 .D53 1993eb
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Call Number: Ref BS2625.5 .D53 1997
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments (online) by Call Number: BS2625.5 .D53 1997eb
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Call Number: Ref BS2312 .D53 2000
Dictionary of New Testament Background (online) by Call Number: BS2312 .D53 2000eb
Reference Books: Whole Bible
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .E44 2000
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 5 vols. by Call Number: Ref BS440 .N443 2006
The Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 vols. by Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992
