- Brandel Library
- Research Guides
- COMM 2070: Group Communication
- Finding Sources
COMM 2070: Group Communication
Finding Sources
Recommended Article Databases
Interdisciplinary Databases
These databases contain journals and magazines from a wide range of subject areas, so they will work well as a starting point for your research regardless of your topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of academic subjects.
Specialized Databases
Our specialized databases have in-depth content in one particular subject area. I've selected a few below based on what your professor has told me about your topics, but you can also browse Brandel's complete list of databases to see if there's something else that might work well for you.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides some full-text articles as well as abstracting and indexing of key journals in the fields of communication and mass-media.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and scholarly index of content related to sociology that includes some full text resources.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles and book chapters on a variety of topics in education including curriculum, standards, and special education.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of many newspapers published nationally and internationally. - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Covers the non-fiction published works of leading African American as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other material. - Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for quantitative facts and statistical information about the United Stated including economic, demographic, and crime data.
Popular vs. Scholarly
Scholarly journal articles:
- written by experts in the field
- aimed at an informed reader
- followed by a bibliography
Popular magazine articles:
- written by reporters
- aimed at the general public
