Provides citations and abstracts as well as some full-text articles and documents in the field of education.
Some full-text articles but mostly mostly citations and abstracts in the fields of psychology and related subjects.
Comprehensive and scholarly index of content related to sociology that includes some full text resources.
The leading database for journal articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology, with full-text coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing as far back as the nineteenth century.
|
AND |
Combine keywords with AND to narrow your search. Example: adolescents AND depression |
|
OR |
Combine keywords with OR to broaden your search. This works well for synonyms. Example: adolescents OR teenagers |
|
“phrase search” |
Put quotes around multiword searches to find only documents that contain those words as a phrase. Example: “youth ministry” |
|
truncation (*) |
Use a * with the stem of a word to search for all forms of that word. Example: |
ATLA Religion Database:
While searching for children's/youth ministry in the database will bring up results, the actual subject heading for articles in this area is "church work with youth." Use this in a subject search to pull up the best and most complete list of results!
Use the following criteria to decide if a publication is popular or scholarly.
|
Scholarly Articles |
Popular Articles |
|
| Author | Expert in the field, credentials and affilated university listed | Journalist, freelance writer or staff writers |
| Length of article | Longer more detailed content | Shorter articles giving a brief overview |
| Intended audience | Researchers, experts in the field | General Public |
| Layout | Includes an abstract, footnotes, list of citations. | Does not follow a standard format, often a simple title |
| Images | Charts, graphs, tables of data | Colorful, eye catching photos |
| Vocabulary | Specialized terminology, need extensive knowlege of discipline to understand text | Written at the level to be understood by the general public |
If an article is not available as a PDF, you will see the Get a Copy button instead. Click on it to find out if the PDF is available from another library database, or to request it from interlibrary loan.
