Research Guides: HSC 2100: Introduction to the Health Sciences: Finding Articles

Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reference tool for nursing and allied health professionals; includes the full text of more than 1,300 journals.
Health Source This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from many scholarly journals as well as other resources focusing on a variety of medical disciplines.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, and biology.

Accessing databases off-campus:
All library databases are accessible on/off campus. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your North Park username and password.

Additional Recommended Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly materials related to business, management, and economics that includes articles, case studies, company profiles, and economic reports.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of academic subjects.

Database Search Tips

AND	Combine keywords with AND to narrow your search. Example: adolescents AND depression
OR	Combine keywords with OR to broaden your search. This works well for synonyms. Example: adolescents OR teenagers
“phrase search”	Put quotes around multiword searches to find only documents that contain those words as a phrase. Example: “health industry”
*truncation ()**	Use a * with the stem of a word to search for all forms of that word. Example: adolescen* - retrieves adolescent, adolescents, or adolescence

Print, Email, Save and Cite!

Most databases have options to email, save, and print articles. There is also an option to CITE the article in APA format. Remember to double check your citations, databases often make formatting errors.

Accessing Full Text

If an article is not available as a PDF, you will see the Get a Copy button instead. Click on it to find out if the PDF is available from another library database, or to request it from interlibrary loan.

Scholarly vs. Popular

This video explains the difference between scholarly and popular publications.

HSC 2100: Introduction to the Health Sciences: Finding Articles