- Brandel Library
- Research Guides
- YM 4990: Fourth Year Seminar
- Finding Articles
YM 4990: Fourth Year Seminar
Finding Articles
Article Databases
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles and book chapters on a variety of topics in education including curriculum, standards, and special education. - ERIC This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts as well as some full-text articles and documents in the field of education.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowSome full-text articles but mostly mostly citations and abstracts in the fields of psychology and related subjects.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and scholarly index of content related to sociology that includes some full text resources.
- ATLA Plus Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThe premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in the fields of religion, theology, biblical studies. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
- Accessing databases off-campus:All library databases are accessible on/off campus. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your North Park username and password.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a multidisciplinary database that indexes books, academic journals, research papers, dissertations, abstracts and articles from professional societies, academic publishers, universities and scholarly organizations
Database Search Tips
|
AND |
Combine keywords with AND to narrow your search. Example: adolescents AND depression |
|
OR |
Combine keywords with OR to broaden your search. This works well for synonyms. Example: adolescents OR teenagers |
|
“phrase search” |
Put quotes around multiword searches to find only documents that contain those words as a phrase. Example: “youth ministry” |
|
truncation (*) |
Use a * with the stem of a word to search for all forms of that word. Example: |
ATLA Religion Database:
While searching for children's/youth ministry in the database will bring up results, the actual subject heading for articles in this area is "church work with youth." Use this in a subject search to pull up the best and most complete list of results!
Find Full Text
If an article is not available as a PDF, you will see the Get a Copy button instead. Click on it to find out if the PDF is available from another library database, or to request it from interlibrary loan.
