Brandel Library

YM 1510: Introduction to Youth Ministry

Finding Articles

Article Databases

Scholarly or Popular?

Use the following criteria to decide if a publication is popular or scholarly.

Scholarly Articles

 Popular Articles

Author Expert in the field, credentials and affilated university listed Journalist, freelance writer or staff writers
Length of article Longer more detailed content Shorter articles giving a brief overview
Intended audience Researchers, experts in the field General Public
Layout Includes an abstract, footnotes, list of citations. Does not follow a standard format, often a simple title
Images Charts, graphs, tables of data Colorful, eye catching photos
Vocabulary Specialized terminology, need extensive knowlege of discipline to understand text Written at the level to be understood by the general public

Find Full Text

If you find an article in a database and there is no option to download a PDF, you will see this "Get a Copy" button instead. 

Find Full Text image

 


Click on it to find out if the article is available in one of our databases. 
If it's not available, you will have the option to order a copy via Interlibrary Loan. You will receive an email when the article is available.

 

 

Database Search Tips

ATLA Religion Database:

While searching for children's/youth ministry in the database will bring up results, the actual subject heading for articles in this area is "church work with youth." Use this in a subject search to pull up the best and most complete list of results!

PsycInfo and Sociological Abstracts: 

Use Truncation 

Adolescent, Adolescents, Adolecence
Teen, Teens, Teenage,  Teenagers

How do you search library databases for all those variations?  By using truncation!  By placing a truncation symbol at the end of a root word, you can search a database for all the variations of that word.

Many databases use an asterisk for the truncation symbol.

Example:
adolescen*  --- retrieves 
adolescent, adolescents, or adolescence
teen* -- retreives teen, teens, teenage, teenagers