NURS 5020: Population Based Health Care
Find Articles
Nursing Databases
- Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
A starting point for public health information and research that delivers core public health literature with access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text. - CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reference tool for nursing and allied health professionals; includes the full text of more than 1,300 journals. - Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts from academic journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, and biology.
- Accessing databases off-campus:All library databases are accessible on/off campus. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your North Park username and password.
Combining Your Keywords: Boolean Operators
Boolean operators are the words AND, OR, and NOT. These words connect keywords, allowing you to define the relationships between keywords and get the results you want.
| OPERATOR | WHAT IT DOES | EXAMPLES |
| AND | Placing AND between two keywords requires that any results you find contain BOTH keywords. The AND is used to narrow your search. Use it to connect two ideas that both need to be in the results you find. |
breast cancer
|
| OR | The OR lets you search for either keyword at the same time. Use it when you have multiple keywords that are synonyms. |
diabetes |
| NOT | The NOT operator excludes specific keywords. Be careful when using NOT: removing a keyword from your search results may eliminate useful comparison articles. |
children |
Find Full Text
If an article is not available as a PDF, you will see the Get a Copy button instead. Click on it to find out if the PDF is available from another library database, or to request it from interlibrary loan.
Have questions? Watch this short tutorial.
Find an Article from a Citation
Lists of references are a great place to find additional articles. If you see a citation that looks interesting, search for the title of the journal using the library's online journal search tool.
