BTS 2640: Western Theological Tradition (Veeneman)
Reference Books
Specialized Reference Books
- The following are a sample of some of the relevant reference books that focus more specifically on a time period or theological tradition or, in the case of the New Catholic Encyclopedia, encompass a very wide range of subjects, written from a specific theological tradition.
- There are many others, some on similar periods (e.g., Early Christianity, Middle Ages, Modern), some on other traditions (e.g., Lutheranism, Catholicism, Pentecostalism, Methodism).
- These works will help you identify some of the most important primary and secondary sources for your theologian, tradition, or doctrine.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception by Call Number: Ref BS440 .E539
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception EBR (online)Call Number: BS440 .E460 2009eb
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Call Number: Ref BR66.5 .D5813 2014- Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Call Number: BR66.5 .D5813 2014eb
Encyclopedia of the Reformation, 4 vols. by Call Number: Ref BR302.8 .O93 1996
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2d ed.Call Number: Ref BX841 .N44 2003
Mennonite Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref BX8106 .M37
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought by Call Number: REF BR95 .B58 1993
Westminster Handbook to Reformed Theology by Call Number: Ref BX9406 .W47 2001
Historical Dictionary of Lutheranism, 2nd ed. by Call Number: Ref BX8007 .G37 2011
New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements, rev. ed. by Call Number: Ref BR1644 .D53 2002
General Reference Books
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed., rev. by Call Number: Ref BR95 .O8 2005
Religion Past and Present, 14 vols. by Call Number: Ref BL31 .R4213 2007
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity by Call Number: Ref BR95 .C24 2010
Global Dictionary of Theology by Call Number: Ref BR95 .G56 2008
Global Dictionary of Theology (online) by Call Number: BR95 .G56 2008eb- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2d ed.Call Number: Ref BX841 .N44 2003
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. (online)Call Number: BX841 .N493 2003eb
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought by Call Number: Ref BR95 .O94 2000
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology, 3rd ed. by Call Number: Ref BR95 .E87 2017
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology, 3rd ed. (online) by Call Number: BR95 .E87 2017eb
