Research Guides: CORE 3000: Applied Liberal Arts: Finding Sources

Find Scholarly Articles

The interdisciplinary databases I've listed here will work for any of your topics. The library also has more specialized databases. You can browse the full list of the library's online resources, or email me (scthorngate@northpark.edu) your topic for individualized recommendations.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of academic subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text and complete back runs of scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text from a set of journals and e-books in the humanities, arts, and social sciences
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This Google product searches scholarly literature and academic resources - use the "Get a Copy from NPU" service to link to full text content and other library services.

Find Books

Brandel Library Catalog
Find books and e-books available to you at North Park.
I-Share
Find books at academic libraries throughout Illinois, and have them delivered to North Park. Books should arrive in about a week, and you will get an email telling you the item has arrived. This service is free to all NPU students.

Documentaries

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A collection of films in the Humanities and Social Sciences including Communication, Education, English, History, Psychology and Sociology.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of hundreds of documentary series from the Public Broadcasting Service's catalog.

Identifying Scholarly Sources

	Scholarly Article	Popular Article	Scholarly Book	Popular Book
Author	Scholar (usually with a Ph.D.)	Journalist / Freelance Writer / Staff Writer	Scholar (usually with a Ph.D.)	Journalist / Writer
Publisher	Scholarly Journal	Magazine / Website	University Press	Generalist Publisher
Intended Audience	Other Scholars (this includes you!)	General Public	Other Scholars (this includes you!)	General Public
Example	Expuestas: Laborious Expectations and the Plight of Feminist Art in Contemporary Mexico	How NAFTA Explains the Two Mexicos	Transforming modernity: popular culture in Mexico	Midnight in Mexico : a reporter's journey through a country's descent into darkness

CORE 3000: Applied Liberal Arts: Finding Sources

Find Scholarly Articles

Find Books

Documentaries

Identifying Scholarly Sources

Librarian