Brandel Library

BTS 3250: John (Seversen)

Citing Your Sources

Formatting Your References

The SBL Handbook documentation format is derived from the Chicago Manual of Style format, which has a consistent rationale:

  • Each note (whether footnote or endnote) is a single sentence.
    • The only period is at the end of the citation.
    • Only commas and semi-colons, and colons occur within the citation.
    • Series title in include outside the parentheses 
    • publishing information is included in a parenthesis at the end of the note, before the period.
  • Book:
    • Author’s first name, last name, Title: subtitle (Place of publication: Publisher, date), page(s).
  • Journal article:
    • Author’s first name, last name, “Article title,” Journal Title Abbreviation vol. no., issue no. (date [including month or season, if present]): page or page-page, url [if accessed online].
  • Edited book:
    • Editor’s first name, last name, ed., Title: subtitle (Series; Place of publication: Publisher, date).
  • Edited book [multiple editors]:
    • first name, last name; first name, last name; first name, last name, eds., Title: subtitle, Series abbreviation (Place of publication: Publisher, date).
  • Article in book:
    • Name, “Article title” in Book Title: subtitle, ed. Name(s), Series (Place of publication: Publisher, date), page-page.

Bibliography citations, on the other hand, are not a sentence. Periods occur after each basic unit:

  • Book:
    • Author’s last name, first name. Title. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.
  • Journal article:
    • Author’s last name, first name. “Title.” Journal title abbreviation vol. no., issue no. (Date [including month or season, if present]): page-page. url [if accessed online].
  • Edited book:
    • Editor’s last name, first name, ed., Title: subtitle. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.
  • Edited book [multiple editors]:
    • last name, first name; last name, first name; last name, first name, eds. Title: subtitle. Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.
  • Article in book:
    • Last name, first name. “Article title.” Pages ###-### in Book Title: subtitle, ed. first name, last name(s). Series. Place of publication: Publisher, date.

Citation Examples

  • SBL Handbook (Bibliography):

Willitts, Joel. "Matthew and Psalms of Solomon's Messianism: A Comparative Study of First-Century Messianology." BBR 22, no. 1 (2012): 27-50.

Willitts, Joel. Matthew's Messianic Shepherd-King: In Search of 'the Lost Sheep of the House of Israel.' Berlin: Walter de Gruyter, 2007.

Gurtner, Daniel M., Joel Willitts and Richard A. Burridge, eds. Jesus, Matthew's Gospel and Early Christianity: Studies in Memory of Graham N. Stanton. LNTS, 435. T & T Clark LBS. London: T&T Clark, 2011.

Willitts, Joel. "Paul and Matthew: A Descriptive Approach from a Post-New Perspective Interpretative Framework." In Paul and the Gospels: Christologies, Conflicts and Convergences, ed. Michael F. Bird and Joel Willitts. LNTS, 411. T & T Clark LBS. London: T & T Clark, 2011.

  • SBL Handbook (Footnotes)

1. Joel Willitts, "Matthew and Psalms of Solomon's Messianism: A Comparative Study of First-Century Messianology," BBR 22, no. 1 (2012): 27-50.

2. Joel Willitts, Matthew's Messianic Shepherd-King: In Search of 'the Lost Sheep of the House of Israel' (Berlin: Walter de Gruyter, 2007).

3. Daniel M. Gurtner, Joel Willitts and Richard A. Burridge, eds., Jesus, Matthew's Gospel and Early Christianity: Studies in Memory of Graham N. Stanton, LNTS 435; T & T Clark LBS (London: T&T Clark, 2011).

4. Joel Willitts, "Paul and Matthew: A Descriptive Approach from a Post-New Perspective Interpretative Framework" in Paul and the Gospels: Christologies, Conflicts and Convergences, ed. Michael F. Bird and Joel Willitts, LNTS, 411; T & T Clark LBS (London: T & T Clark, 2011), 62-85.

Citation Styles

Your syllabus specifies that you should use SBL Handbook format for your paper.

Brandel Library has an online edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, of which SBL is an adaptation:

http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/16/contents.html

Follow this link to learn how to insert footnotes in a Microsoft Word document:

http://www.ehow.com/how_4480676_insert-footnote-microsoft-word-document.html

Citation Features: ATLA & JSTOR

  • In ATLA Database,
    • Click on a title from the results list and print, email, save, and cite icons will appear on the right side of the screen. 
    • When you click on the yellow "cite" icon (see above), the citation of the article will appear in several bibliographic formats and you may select the style that you are using.
  • In JSTOR, icons for the following tasks will appear on the right side of the item information: