Brandel Library

GS 3150: World History

Finding Articles

Article Databases

Scholarly or Popular?

Use the following criteria to decide if a publication is popular or scholarly.

Scholarly Articles

 Popular Articles

Author Expert in the field, credentials and affilated university listed Journalist, freelance writer or staff writers
Length of article Longer more detailed content Shorter articles giving a brief overview
Intended audience Researchers, experts in the field General Public
Layout Includes an abstract, footnotes, list of citations. Does not follow a standard format, often a simple title
Images Charts, graphs, tables of data Colorful, eye catching photos
Vocabulary Specialized terminology, need extensive knowlege of discipline to understand text Written at the level to be understood by the general public

Getting Full Text Articles

The Brandel Library can often provide a link directly to the PDF of the article you need. After searching a library database, links with the phrase "Full Text" should all resolve to the PDF of the article.

Some of the time, however, the library won't have access to the full text of the article. In those cases, you will need to use the "Request via WorldShare Interlibrary Loan" link to request the article. The WorldShare Interlibrary Loan service is free to students and most articles arrive within 4 days.

Print, Email, and Cite!

Most databases have options to email, save, and print articles. For databases that use the EBSCO interface, select the article you wish to view by clicking on the title. Select the PRINT/EMAIL/SAVE icon on the right side of the screen. There is also an option to cite the articles in APA format.

Scholarly vs. Popular

This video explains the difference between scholarly and popular publications.