Brandel Library

HIST 1000: The Quest in History

Finding Articles

Article Databases

Scholarly or Popular?

Use the following criteria to decide if a publication is popular or scholarly.

Scholarly Articles

 Popular Articles

Author Expert in the field, credentials and affilated university listed Journalist, freelance writer or staff writers
Length of article Longer more detailed content Shorter articles giving a brief overview
Intended audience Researchers, experts in the field General Public
Layout Includes an abstract, footnotes, list of citations. Does not follow a standard format, often a simple title
Images Charts, graphs, tables of data Colorful, eye catching photos
Vocabulary Specialized terminology, need extensive knowlege of discipline to understand text Written at the level to be understood by the general public

Accessing Full Text

If you find an article in a database and there is no option to download a PDF, you will see this "Get a Copy" button instead. 

Find Full Text image

 


Click on it to find out if the article is available in one of our databases. 
If it's not available, you will have the option to order a copy via Interlibrary Loan. You will receive an email when the article is available.

Print, Email, and Cite!

Most databases have options to email, save, and print articles. For databases that use the EBSCO interface, select the article you wish to view by clicking on the title. Select the PRINT/EMAIL/SAVE icon on the right side of the screen. There is also an option to cite the articles in APA format.

Scholarly vs. Popular

This video explains the difference between scholarly and popular publications.