Research Guides: NURS 4240: Research Process in Professional Nursing: Finding the Evidence

Nursing and Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research database for nursing and allied health professionals; includes the full text of more than 1,300 journals.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text articles, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses that provide key resources for evidence-based medicine.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, and biology.
Up To Date This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text overviews that synthesize recent medical research to provide evidence-based recommendations for clinical practitioners.
This resource requires a NPU login so that medical professionals can earn CME credits.

TRIP Database
A medical search engine focused on clinical guidelines and Evidence Based Medicine.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
The NGC is a resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for treatments and interventions for hundreds of diseases and conditions.
PubMed
Contains thousands of citations of biomedical articles with a limited amount of full-text. A large amount of this information is available through the Medline database. PubMed also has PICO app for your mobile device.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or citations of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Finding Systematic Reviews

Systematic Reviews are scholarly articles that identify and synthesize the literature available to answer a particular research question. A systematic review may include a Meta Analysis, which is an analysis of data from several different trials.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews provides high quality systematic reviews of research in health care and health policy.
CINAHL and MEDLINE also contain systematic reviews. To find them, add either "systematic review" or "meta analysis" as a keyword in your search.

sample search for a systematic review

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text articles, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses that provide key resources for evidence-based medicine.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reference tool for nursing and allied health professionals; includes the full text of more than 1,300 journals.
Medline Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, and biology.

Getting Journal Articles

The Brandel Library can often provide a link directly to the PDF of the article you need. After searching a library database, links with the phrase "Full Text" should all resolve to the PDF of the article.

Some of the time, however, the library won't have access to the full text of the article. In those cases, you will need to use the "Request via WorldShare Interlibrary Loan" link to request the article. The WorldShare Interlibrary Loan service is free to students and most articles arrive within 4 days.

Print, Email, Save and Cite!

Most databases have options to email, save, and print articles. There is also an option to CITE the article in APA format. Remember to double check your citations, databases often make formatting errors.

NURS 4240: Research Process in Professional Nursing: Finding the Evidence

Nursing and Health Sciences Databases

Finding Systematic Reviews

Getting Journal Articles

Print, Email, Save and Cite!

Librarian