Please see our Library Services during COVID page for the Brandel Library's current policies. See North Park University's COVID-19 update page for more information about how the campus is responding to COVID-19.
- Brandel Library
- Research Guides
- BTS 1850: Introduction to the Bible (Nassif)
- Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
BTS 1850: Introduction to the Bible (Nassif)
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Using Biblical Dictionaries and Encyclopedia
- Biblical dictionaries (or dictionaries of the New Testament or some smaller portion) contain articles that define and explain biblical words.
- The articles also identify and describe people, objects, corporate bodies, and events in the Bible.
- In addition, the articles provide summaries and analysis of the books of the Bible.
- If you are writing on a passage in the Bible, identify key words, persons, objects, events, and corporate bodies that appear in your passage.
- Then read about these in biblical dictionaries to acquire a basic understanding.
- This preliminary understanding will be helpful when you research in commentaries, journal articles, and books that deal with your passage.
Reference Books: Whole Bible
-
Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Ref BS440 .L66 2013 -
New Bible Dictionary, 3rd ed. by Call Number: Ref BS440 .N42 1996 -
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .E44 2000 -
Oxford Companion to the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .M434 1993 -
Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .B26 1997 -
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 5 vols. by Call Number: Ref BS440 .N443 2006 -
Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992
Reference Books: New Testament
-
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Call Number: Ref BS2625.5 .D53 1997 -
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments (online) by Call Number: BS2625.5 .D53 1997eb -
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Call Number: Ref BS2312 .D53 2000 -
Dictionary of New Testament Background (online) by Call Number: BS2312 .D53 2000eb -
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Call Number: Ref BS2555.2 .D53 2013 -
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels (online) by Call Number: BS2555.52 .D53 2013eb -
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Call Number: Ref BS2650.2 .D53 1993 -
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters (online) by Call Number: BS2650.2 .D53 1993eb
Subject Guide
- Last Updated: Jan 5, 2021 11:04 AM
- Print Page