BIBL 5111: Greek Exegesis

Researching in the Archives

A guide to finding and using archival resources is available here; this page is tailored to research related to Covenant History and Theology.

Before Your Research Visit

To best use archival resources, we recommend doing background research and having a topic in mind. Use course readings, the library catalog, and other resources to choose a research topic or area of interest.

For all research requests, I'm available to help guide your research and help you identify relevant archival records. Please feel free to contact me or schedule a meeting with me.

During Your Research Visit

Researchers are required to fill out a registration form during your first visit to the archives. This form includes the guidelines and regulations for using the collections. For the care of our collections:

  • All coats and bags must be placed in the reading room closet. Researchers are permitted to use pencils (not pens), notebooks, and/or laptop computers.
  • There is no food or drinks allowed in the archives - there are vending machines and a casual study area on the first floor of the library.
  • Photographing most material is allowed - just no flash photography. Requests for scans will be handled on a case by case basis.
  • Please work with one box at a time and one folder at a time. Order matters - please keep the contents of each folder in the original order and keep the folders in order within the box.

The archivist and researcher will discuss the research topic and identify useful materials. Much of collection is described in finding aids, catalog records, and other indexes that will serve as a starting point for research. The archivist will retrieve materials from the closed stacks and provide it to you in the reading room.

Digital Resources

Portions of our collections have been digitized and are available online.